Skip to Main Content

Liquor Control Boards & Boards of License Commissioners

Effective October 1, 2017,  all Board/Commission Members and Employees of Liquor Control Boards and Boards of License Commissioners (with the exception of Dorchester, Howard, Kent, Montgomery, and Worcester Counties) will be subject to the Maryland Public Ethics Law and under the jurisdiction of the State Ethics Commission.

Agency Members
Form 1
Members
Form 2
Employees
Form 1
Training
Allegany County Board of License Commissioners X X
Annapolis City Alcoholic Beverage Countrol Board X N/A
Anne Arundel County Board of License Commissioners X X
Baltimore City Board of License Commissioners X X
Baltimore County Board of License Commissioners* X X
Calvert County Board of License Commissioners X X
Caroline County Board of License Commissioners X N/A
Carroll County Board of License Commissioners X X
Cecil County Liquor Board X X
Charles County Board of License Commissioners X N/A
Frederick County Board of License Commissioners X X
Garrett County Board of License Commissioners X N/A
Harford County Liquor Control Board X X
Prince George’s County Board of License Commissioners X X
Queen Anne’s County Board of License Commissioners X X
Somerset County Board of License Commissioners X X
Somerset County Liquor Control Board X X
St. Mary’s County Alcohol Beverage Board X X
Talbot County Board of License Commissioners X N/A
Washington County Board of License Commissioners X X
Wicomico County Board of License Commissioners X X
Wicomico County Liquor Control Board X X

*Alternate Members File Form 2, as they do not meet minimum compensation requirement for Form 1

Board/Commission Members and their Employees

  • Will be subject to the Conflict of Interest provisions of the Public Ethics Law, Maryland Code Annotated, General Provisions,Title 5, Subtitle 5.
  • Must file financial disclosure statements with the State Ethics Commission.
  • Board/Commission Members will file Form 1 or Form 2.  Employees will file Form 1.
  • Financial disclosure statements must be filed electronically using the  Commission’s Electronic Disclosure Filing System.
  • Current Board/Commission Members and Employees must file within 30 days of becoming subject to the jurisdiction of the State Law (i.e. no later than October 31, 2017).
  • For new Board/Commission Members and Employees who join or are employed by the Board/Commission in the future, their initial filings must be completed within 30 days of assuming their positions.
  • After the initial filing, a financial disclosure statement must be filed annually no later than April 30 for as long as Board/Commission Members continue to serve on the Board and Employees remain employed by the Board/Commission.
  • Upon completion of their State service, departing Board/Commission Members and Employees must file a financial disclosure termination statement within 60 days of their departure, covering the period that elapsed since their previous filing.

Employees

  • Must take a mandatory training course as prescribed in the Public Ethics Law.
  • Training must be completed within 6 months of an individual becoming subject to the State Law (i.e. no later than March 31, 2018 for current employees) – as new Employees are hired, they will be obliged to take the training course within 6 months of their start date.
  • The training requirement can be accomplished online using the Commission’s Electronic Disclosure Filing System.
ae1a-ewspg-web3